Choosing a Book for Baby’s Bedtime Routine

In case you’ve missed it, I’m having a baby this summer. I’m nearly half way through my pregnancy and the baby can now hear sounds outside the womb. Naturally, I’ve been reading up a lot on babies. Two of my favorite people to follow are Dr. Sterling OBGYN and Cara @ Taking Cara Babies.

One of the things I’ve learned during all of this research is that you can start a baby’s bedtime routine while inside the womb. On instagram, Dr. Sterling shared that while her first born was still in the womb she sang a song to her little girl every night and to this day (she’s now two) she can start singing the song and her two-year-old will start to fall asleep. Pretty cool!

Well, naturally I’ve been trying to figure out how to make this bedtime routine bookish. I’ve been bouncing around book ideas. Do I want a full on children’s book or something a little more epic?

My 3 Top Contenders

So far I have narrowed my choices down to three books/series.

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

I loved this book as a child and so did all five of my siblings. You can ask any of them to this very day, and everyone will tell you how much they loved it. It’s fun and different, and so are the illustrations. My husband actually bought me a hardcover copy for Christmas a couple years ago. It’s just burning to be read to a little tiny baby.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

How could I not consider this book? I finished this series later in life than quite a few people, but I read the first book when I was maybe 8 or 9ish. I don’t remember exactly when, but I was supposed to read it with my mom; however, I couldn’t wait for her and went on to finish it on my own. I love how magical this series is, especially now that we have the illustrated editions coming out!

THe Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

I have written many a blog post about The Lord of the Rings. Not only is it an epic adventure, it also shows so many wonderful examples of true friendship, choosing good over evil, never giving up, courage, etc. The list goes on and on. Plus, who wouldn’t want to grow up and say, “yeah my mom read me The Lord of the Rings growing up.” I don’t know, I think that would be pretty cool to be able to say as an adult.

Let me know what you think! Which book should I choose? If you’ve had a baby, did you read to them prior to delivery?

Published by Stephanie

20 something college student who wants to travel and has no idea what they're doing with their life.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started