A Great Start for the Fantastic Beasts Films

The long awaited moment has arrived. After the completion of the Harry Potter series, did we really dare hope for more? What am I saying? Of course we did but we actually got it: from Rowling herself. Her first screenplay, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, hit theatres this last November directed by David Yates himself. For anyone who needs a refresher, Yates directed the last four Harry Potter films. While I have problems with The Half-Blood Prince, the final four films really hit the story’s atmosphere right on the head. I have no qualms with him directing Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts films.

But how was the first one? That’s what we all wanted to know, right? The fact that the story was in the hands of Rowling was a relief, but I admit that I was slightly apprehensive after I read The Cursed Child… I didn’t hate the play, but it wasn’t great either.

The film opened with the classic Harry Potter theme going through the theatre, just long enough to tell us that this is part of the wizarding world but it quickly transferred into a new theme that is altogether familiar yet unknown. I haven’t listened to the entire score yet, but my initial impression is conflicted. I sort of feel like with Newt’s character that there was definitely room for some lighter songs but the overall story is not cheery. You have the minor story of Newt trying to find his beasts, but that’s kind of a small part of the movie. There’s a rather dark undertone for the film, which Yates works very well with. I do like the addition of jazz though; that was very fun and appropriate. So, all around I think the score works very well with the movie, but I wish it’d had some more cheery tones to it as well.

Even going into the film telling and reminding myself that it wasn’t really a Harry Potter movie, I still found it difficult to let go of the expectations that come with watching a Harry Potter film. To be honest, I kind of expected that though. Newt Scamander’s story is completely different, which we all knew but the wizarding world we’ve known has only ever been one with Harry Potter. It definitely takes an adjustment to shift yourself away from the world’s founding story, so to speak.

Newt Scamander is sort of an awkward character. He doesn’t really look anyone in the eyes. He’s always looking past them or down or off to the side. This kind of got on my nerves the first time I watched it, but not so much the second time. Everything about his character though screams awkward, from the high-water pants to watching him retrieve his beasts. I’ve noticed that people find his awkwardness endearing, but that wasn’t really the case for me. I accept that that’s his character, but at this point it’s so awkward that I don’t find it charming yet. Don’t get me wrong, I like Newt Scamander and by the end of the movie I did kind of smile at some points of awkwardness; but I think he’s the type of character you grow to love. That being said, I did enjoy his character more the second time around.

Alison Sudol did a great job as Queenie and she’s definitely a new favorite. She’s very feminine but capable, and I loved that about her. Her sister (the other leading lady), Tina, was not a very enjoyable character for me. I just don’t understand why she was so weepy the entire movie. She’s supposed to be an ex-auror but she feels way too timid for the role. I don’t dislike her, but she isn’t a favorite.

kowalski-and-newt

Let’s talk about Kowalski. He is the perfect companion for Newt and his adventure. I really loved their friendship and interactions. They are the perfect team. Together, they provide much needed comic-relief. You can think of Kowalski as the Ron-type character, except far less moody. He is a character that I really hope to see again in later Fantastic Beasts films.  He’s immediately endearing and, while he’s a sensible character, he’s also a lot of fun and a real stand-up guy.

Now, as we all know, the overarching plot for the Fantastic Beasts films deals with Grindelwald. I can’t say that I’m surprised with how this movie tied him in to the story, but there were certain aspects that did keep me guessing. One of my favorite parts of this movie though is the new bit of the magical world that was revealed. What happens when witches and wizards try to suppress their powers? My lips are sealed. Suffice it to say that I was intrigued by this information and liked how it was incorporated into the movie.

All in all, I enjoyed Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. I’m looking forward to owning it and watching it again. I’m glad that they avoided the temptation of using nostalgic scenes and plot devices, that were such a big part of other recent films (Star Wars Episode VII and Jurassic World).

If you haven’t seen the movie then you definitely should. If you have seen it, tell me what you think!

Published by Stephanie

20 something college student who wants to travel and has no idea what they're doing with their life.

2 thoughts on “A Great Start for the Fantastic Beasts Films

  1. I loved this movie, as well. I think they made a lot of interesting choices, starting with the fact that we’re looking entirely at adult characters. (Is this a kid’s movie, though? Maybe yes and no.) And, yeah, the main characters didn’t scream “hero” at all, which made it great that they ARE heroes. I completely agree with you about Tina, though. She seemed generally depressed, for no reason I could figure out, and I completely thought she was a harassed amateur journalist when we met her. I do not buy AT ALL that she was an auror or would be good at being an auror. I’m not even sure we saw her perform that much magic in the film.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started